From CASS

Jump to: navigation, search

Faculty and Researchers

Contents

Faculty and researchers from several departments (e.g., Physics, ECE, Chemistry, and others) lead cutting edge research efforts in the diverse fields of astronomy and astrophysics. CASS researchers seek to understand the events and processes that shape our universe: the origins of structure and the elements, the nature of space and time, the formation of stars and galaxies, and supernova explosions.



Professors

Abarbanel.jpg

Abarbanel, Henry D.

Professor, Physics
BCI, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, IGCC, MPL
Email: habarbanel@ucsd.edu
Office: Urey Hall, Room 7258
Phone: (858) 534-5590
Arnold.jpg

Arnold, Kam

Assistant Professor, Physics
Email: ksarnold@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 404
Phone: (858) 534-2512
Beg.jpg

Beg, Farhat

Professor, MAE
Email: fbeg@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU II, Room 471
Phone: (858) 822-1266
J Buckwalter.jpg

Buckwalter, James

Associate Professor, ECE
Email: jfbuckwalter@ucsd.edu
Office: Jacobs Hall/EBU 1, Room 5607
Phone: (858) 534-4253
Integrated circuit design of RF and millimeter-wave communication systems and opto-electronic interfaces for high-speed sampling and wireline communication.
Aburgasser.jpg

Burgasser, Adam

Professor, Physics
Hellman Fellow
Email: aburgasser@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 340
Phone: (858) 822-6958
Observational astrophysics, focusing on very low-mass stars and brown dwarfs, low-temperature stellar and planetary atmospheres, and Galactic stellar populations.
Acoil.jpg

Coil, Alison

Professor, Physics
Email: acoil@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 424
Phone: (858) 822-3940
Observational astrophysics, with a focus on galaxy evolution, observational cosmology, and large-scale structure
Day.jpg

Day, James

Associate Professor, Geosciences Research Division,
Scripps Institution of Oceanography (SIO)
Email: jmdday@ucsd.edu
Office: Vaughan Hall 306
Phone: (858) 534-5431
Research themes: Earth and Planetary Chemistry, Earth through Space and time. Research topics: High Temperature Geochemistry, Isotopic Geochemistry, Planetary Sciences and Meteoritics, Volcanology.
Pdiamond.jpg

Diamond, Patrick H.

Distinguished Professor, Physics
Email: pdiamond@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 436
Phone: (858) 534-4025
Plasma Theory Group, GPS-TTBP
Driver.jpg

Driver, Bruce

Professor, Mathematics
Email: bdriver@ucsd.edu
Office: AP&M 5260
Phone: (858) 534-2648
Flauger.jpg

Flauger, Raphael

Assistant Professor, Physics
Email: flauger@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 335
Gfuller.jpg

Fuller, George

Distinguished Professor, Physics
Director of CASS
Email: gfuller@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 409
Phone: (858) 534-9085
Theoretical Astrophysics. Theoretical Nuclear and Elementary Particle Physics. Nuclear and Particle Astrophysics.General relativity, especially as regards instability in massive objects. Physics of the early universe; gravitational collapse and supernovae, compact objects; nuclear and quark matter; the origin of nuclei, especially the light elements in the Big Bang and the heavy elements in supernovae; the weak interaction and neutrinos. A common theme running through much of Professor Fuller's work is the interplay of the weak interaction, nuclei, and gravitation.
Holst.jpg

Holst, Michael

Professor, Mathematics and Physics
Co-Director, Center for Computational Mathematics (CCoM)
within the Mathematics Department
Email: mholst@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 405
Bkeating.jpg

Keating, Brian

Professor, Physics
Email: bkeating@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 327
Phone: (858) 534-7930
Observational and experimental cosmology, polarization and temperature measurements of the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB), near-infrared background measurements and cosmological reionization. Low noise detector and modulation mechanisms, microwave and infrared optics.
Keres 144x216.jpg

Keres, Dusan

Assistant Professor, Physics
Email: dkeres@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 427
Phone: (858) 822-1214
Research area: Astrophysics/Astronomy. My research encompasses broad area of formation and evolution of galaxies, their halos and the inter-galactic medium. I use gravity+hydrodynamics simulations of structure formation in the universe to understand the cycling of baryons between galaxies and their surroundings. This includes topics of galactic infall, outflows, interactions, long term regulation of galaxy evolution and related observable consequences of these processes. I'm also interested in advances in numerical hydrodynamic techniques and physical models used in galaxy formation.
Konopacky.jpg

Konopacky, Quinn

Assistant Professor, Physics
Email: qkonopacky@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 338
Phone: (858) 246-0241
Planet formation and evolution; high contrast imaging; star formation; stellar and substellar evolution; orbital dynamics; high angular resolution imaging and spectroscopy; adaptive optics; astrometry; speckle interferometry; optical and infrared astronomy.
Kuti.jpg

Kuti, Julius

Professor, Physics
Email: jkuti@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: MH 5410
Phone: (858) 534-6096
Michelsen 144x216.jpg

Michelsen, Eric L.

Physics Lecturer
Email: emichels@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 317
Phone: (858) 822-2018
Minster.jpg

Minster, Jean-Bernard

Professor/Director, IGPP
Email: jbminster@ucsd.edu
Office: IGPP II/1000
Phone: (858) 534-5650
Tmurphy.jpg

Murphy, Thomas

Professor, Physics
Associate Director of CASS
Email: tmurphy@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 336
Phone: (858) 534-1844
Solar-system tests of general relativity; Energy and the environment
Norman.jpg

Norman, Michael

Professor, Physics
Director of SDSC
Email: mlnorman@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 423
Phone: (858) 822-4194
Computational Astrophysics: Cosmology, galaxy formation, star formation, high-energy astrophysics.
Hpaar.jpg

Paar, Hans

Professor, Physics
Email: hpaar@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 322A
Phone: (858) 246-0405
Experimental cosmology, in particular the experimental study of the properties of the Cosmic Microwave Background with emphasis on its polarization.
Kquest.jpg

Quest, Kevin

Professor, ECE
Email: kquest@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU-I 2608
Phone: (858) 534-4676
Space plasma physics
Rebeiz.jpg

Rebeiz, Gabriel

Professor, ECE
Email: grebeiz@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU-I 5608
Phone: (858) 534-8001
Micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) for microwave applications, design of radio frequency/microwave/millimeter-wave systems with radio-astronomical applications.
Sandstrom.png

Sandstrom, Karin

Assistant Professor, Physic
Email: kmsandstrom@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 426
Phone: (858) 246-0552
Interstellar medium: the gas and dust between the stars in a galaxy, particularly the properties of interstellar dust - how dust properties evolve over time, vary within and among galaxies, and how they influence the physics of the interstellar medium.
D Sievenpiper.jpg

Sievenpiper, Dan

Professor, ECE
Email: dsievenpiper@eng.ucsd.edu
Office: Jacobs Hall 3209
Phone: (858) 822-6678
Periodic structures, artificial impedance surfaces, metamaterials and metasurfaces, antennas, integration of active electronics with electromagnetic structures, active impedance matching, high power microwave generation or mitigation, biological applications of electromagnetics.
Thiemens.jpg

Thiemens, Mark

Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Dean, Division of Physical Sciences
Email: mthiemens@ucsd.edu
Office: UH 2040
Phone: (858) 534-6732
Cosmochemistry
Tynan.jpg

Tynan, George

Professor, MAE
Email: gtynan@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU II, Room 456
Phone: (858) 534-9724
Dtytler.jpg

Tytler, David

Professor, Physics
Email: dtytler@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 428
Phone: (858) 534-7670
Optical/UV Astronomy
SWright.jpg

Wright, Shelley

Assistant Professor, Physics
Email: saw@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 414
Phone: (858) 534-3316
Experimental and observational astrophysics, optical and infrared instrumentation, adaptive optics, galaxy formation and evolution, and SETI.
Wuerthwein.jpg

Wuerthwein, Frank

Professor, Physics
Email: fwuerthwein@ucsd.edu
Office: MH 5515
Phone: (858) 822-3219

Researchers

Abuffington.jpg

Buffington, Andrew

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: abuffington@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 381A
Phone: (858) 534-6630
Heliospheric Physics
Friedman.jpg

Friedman, Andrew

Assistant Research Scientist
Email: asf@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 334
Phone: (858) 534-5416
Dharker.jpg

Harker, David

Associate Research Scientist, CASS
Email: dharker@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 333B
Phone: (858) 822-4893
Ips.jpg

Hick, Paul

Researcher/Data Administrator, SDSC
Email: pphick@ucsd.edu
Office: SDSC 308
Phone: (858) 822-3674
Ips.jpg

Jackson, Bernard

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: bvjackson@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 303
Phone: (858) 534-3358
Calvin Johnson.jpg

Johnson, Calvin

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: cajohnson@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 419
Phone: (858) 822-3435
C Kishimoto.jpg

Kishimoto, Chad

Assistant Project Scientist, CASS
Lecturer, Physics
Email: ckishimo@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 439
Phone: (858) 822-4463
Akritsuk.jpg

Kritsuk, Alexei

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: akritsuk@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 333A
Phone: (858) 534-2943
Theoretical and Computational Astrophysics: Physics of the multiphase interstellar medium, molecular clouds, star formation, and feedback processes. Intracluster medium, AGN feedback,and turbulence in clusters of galaxies. Compressible magnetized turbulence in astrophysical systems and beyond.
Lindblom.jpg

Lindblom, Lee

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: llindblom@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 403
Phone: (858) 534-8991
Rlingenfelter.jpg

Lingenfelter, Richard

Research Physicist Emeritus, CASS
Email: rlingenfelter@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 402
Phone: (858) 534-2464
His research interests range broadly from high-energy astrophysics theory in the origin and interactions of cosmic rays and the sources of gamma rays, through solar flare physics of neutron and gamma-ray emission, meteoritic isotope production, water on the Moon and Mars, and geophysics in radiocarbon and atmospheric neutron production, radiation belt sources, river flood flows, cloud formation and volcanoes, all the way to the history of the American West and Pacific Islands, mining labor and finance, and folk songs.
Lubin.jpg

Lubin, Dan

Researcher, CASPO-SIO
Email: dlubin@ucsd.edu
Office: Nierenberg Hall, Room 339
Phone: (858) 534-6369
Blank.gif

Maire, Jerome

Assistant Project Scientist, CASS
Email: jmaire@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 463
Mmalkov.jpg

Malkov, Mikhail

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: mmalkov@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 306
Phone: (858) 534-7275
Markowitz.jpg

Markowitz, Alex

Assistant Research Scientist, CASS
Email: almarkowitz@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 412
Phone: (858) 534-8016
Exploring accretion mechanisms in Active Galactic Nuclei (AGN), mainly via X-ray spectroscopy and variability. Exploring the geometry and accretion behavior of circumnuclear material around supermassive black holes across a range of length scales, from the region of extreme gravity to parsec scales. Connections between AGN and stellar-mass accreting compact objects. Links between black hole mass, luminosity, and continuum variability. Links between accretion disks and relativistic jets.
Jmatteson.jpg

Matteson, James

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: jmatteson@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 435
Phone: (858) 534-4429
X-ray and gamma-ray astronomy. Interactions and background effects of photon and particle radiation. Design and experimental characterization of position-sensitive solid-state detectors. Design and performance-modeling of X-ray and gamma-ray imaging instruments.
Carl.jpg

Melis, Carl

Associate Research Scientist, CASS
Email: cmelis@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 339
Phone: (858) 534-6627
Debris disks around nearby main sequence stars, ancient planetary systems and their composition through the study of white dwarf stars, actively accreting dusty first-ascent giant stars, radio interferometric imaging of protoplanetary disks, very-long baseline imaging astrometry, cool brown dwarfs as companions to nearby stars.
High-energy.jpg

Pelling, Michael

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: mpelling@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 404
Phone: (858) 534-2512
Rpuetter.jpg

Puetter, Richard

Research Physicist, CASS
Founder and Chief Science Officer, Pixon Imaging
Email: rpuetter@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 317
Phone: (858) 534-4945
Quasars/AGN, IR astronomy, interstellar medium, radiative transfer, computational physics, inverse problems, image reconstruction, complexity theory, image compression
Reasenberg.jpg

Reasenberg, Robert

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: rreasenberg@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 433 (4th floor visitor office)
Experimental gravitation and relativity
Yrephaeli.jpg

Rephaeli, Yoel

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: yrephaeli@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 437
Phone: (858) 534-1151
Cosmology and high energy astrophysics, with main current foci on CMB cosmology, astrophysics of galaxy clusters, and high energy emission from starburst galaxies
Dusty-plasma.jpg

Rosenberg, Marlene

Research Scientist, ECE
Email: mrosenberg@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU-I 2408
Phone: (858) 534-4509
Rrothschild.jpg

Rothschild, Richard

Research Scientist, CASS
Adjunct Lecturer, Physics
Lead Scientist of the High Energy Astrophysics group in CASS
Email: rrothschild@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 413
Phone: (858) 534-3462
High energy astrophysics, including but not limited to accreting X-ray pulsars, active galactic nuclei, high energy emission from clusters of galaxies; nuclear astrophysics, including the 511 keV positron annihilation radiation, and other line radiation (Al-26, Ti-44, etc.); high energy astrophysics instrumentation, including coded mask imaging and hard X-ray imaging telescopes; mission development, such as the MIRAX concept to monitor X-ray temporal variability for the central region of the Galaxy, hard X-ray telescope missions such as Nustar, Astro-H, and the International X-ray Observatory; humanitarian demining; and detection/monitoring of radionuclides at a distance.
Plasma-physics.jpg

Shevchenko, Valentin

Research Scientist, ECE
Email: vshevchenko@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU-I 2406
Phone: (858) 534-8547
CASS Logo.jpg

Skelton, Robert (Tom)

Associate Project Scientist, CASS
Email: tskelton@cass16.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 435
Development of Cadmium Zinc Telluride solid-state detectors for X-rays and gamma rays, and on ASICs to read out their signals.
NStebor.jpg

Stebor, Nathan

Assistant Project Scientist, CASS
Email: nstebor@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 335
Phone: (858) 534-5416
Tiglio 3.jpg

Tiglio, Manuel H.

Associate Research Scientist, CASS
Faculty, Center for Computational Mathematics (CCoM)
Research Scientist, San Diego Supercomputer Center (SDSC)
Email: tiglio@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 406 (CASS)
Office: E318 (SDSC)
Gravitational wave science, mathematical modeling, scientific computing.
High-energy.jpg

Tucker, Wallace

Research Physicist, CASS (retired)
Email: wktucker@sd.znet.com
Office: SERF 433 (CASS Visitor Office)
Fridolin Weber.jpg

Weber, Fridolin

Research Scientist, CASS
Email: fweber@physics.ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 419
Phone: (858) 822-3435
Helio.gif

Yu, Hsiu-Shan

Assistant Research Scientist, CASS
Email: hsyu@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 305
Phone: (858) 534-0179

Professors Emeriti

J Arnold.jpg

Arnold, James

Professor Arnold passed away January 6, 2012
Professor Emeritus, Chemistry
Cosmochemistry
Geoff burbidge.jpg

Burbidge, Geoffrey

Professor Geoff Burbidge passed away January 26, 2010
Professor Emeritus, Physics
Theoretical astrophysics: Physics of active galaxies & quasi-stellar objects, nonthermal radiation processes, cosmology
Eburbidge.jpg

Burbidge, Margaret

Professor Emeritus, Physics
Email: mburbidge@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 330
Phone: (858) 534-4478 [Peggy McCoy, Professor Burbidge's assistant]
Theoretical astrophysics: Physics of active galaxies & quasi-stellar objects, nonthermal radiation processes, cosmology
Bcoles.jpg

Coles, William

Professor Emeritus, ECE
Email: bcoles@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU-I 2407
Phone: (858) 534-2703
Solar Space Physics: Structure & turbulence in the solar wind; interstellar & interplanetary scintillation, theory of wave propagation.
Kgriest.jpg

Griest, Kim

Professor Emeritus, Physics
Email: kgriest@ucsd.edu
Office: MH 3206 / SERF 337
Phone: (858) 534-0924/8914
Particle astrophysics/MACHO Project
K Marti.jpg

Marti, Kurt

Professor Emeritus, Chemistry
Email: kmarti@ucsd.edu
Office: MH 5330
Phone: (858) 534-2939
Cosmochemistry
Cmcilwain.jpg

McIlwain, Carl

Professor Emeritus, Physics
Email: cmcilwain@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 307
Phone: (858) 534-3314
Magnetospheric physics
A Mendis.jpg

Mendis, Asoka

Professor Emeritus, ECE
Email: amendis@ece.ucsd.edu
Office: EBU-I 2409
Phone: (858) 534-2719
Space plasma physics
L Peterson photo 2015.jpg

Peterson, Laurence

Professor Emeritus, Physics
Email: lepeterson@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 401
Phone: (858) 534-3461
High energy astronomy
B Rickett.jpg

Rickett, Barnaby (Barney)

Professor Emeritus, ECE
Email: bjrickett@ucsd.edu
Office: EBU-1 2405
Phone: (858) 534-2731
Radio astronomy
Sally 539w.jpg

Ride, Sally

Professor Ride passed away July 23, 2012
Professor Emeritus, Physics
Fshu.jpg

Shu, Frank

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Physics
University Professor Emeritus
Email: fhshu@ucsd.edu
Office: SERF 330
Phone: (858) 534-4477
Vernon.jpg

Vernon, Wayne

Professor Vernon passed away February 22, 2015
Research Professor Emeritus, Physics
Awolfe.jpg

Wolfe, Arthur

Professor Wolfe passed away February 17, 2014
Professor Emeritus, Physics and Endowed Chair
Former Chancellor's Associates Chair IV
Galaxy formation - observation and theory